BTEC Diploma

Information Technology


Entry Requirements

5 GCSEs at grade 4 or above, including Mathematics and English.

The BTEC Diploma in Information Technology is a two year course, equivalent to 2 A levels. It is designed to support learners who are interested in learning about the computing sector alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in the computing sector. 

The BTEC qualifications can be taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

Course Content

This qualification is designed to support students who want a strong core study of computer science to enable progression to roles in the computing industry or progression to higher education with a focus on the computing sector.

In the first year you will study (* denotes core units, ** denotes double weighted units):

  • Information Technology Systems **
  • Creating Systems to Manage Information*
  • Using Social Media in Business
  • Website Development

In your second year you will study:

  • IT Project Management*
  • Cyber Security and Incident Management **
  • Mobile Apps Development
  • Programming

Where Could It Take Me?

The BTEC Nationals in Computing & IT are recognised by both higher education establishments and industry.  The courses are suitable for students who have a keen interest in following a career in the wide field of IT and Computing and who may wish to go directly into employment after completing the qualification as well as those who wish to embark on a degree course at university.

When taken alongside other Level 3 qualifications such as A Levels, these qualifications provide an opportunity to progress to a degree in a computing discipline or a degree where computing-related skills and knowledge may be advantageous, such as business studies.

These qualification carry UCAS points and are recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses.

Methods of Teaching

The BTEC Nationals in IT are a suite of advanced level vocational qualifications which involve the theoretical and practical study of both computer hardware and software related topics.  The course provides specialist knowledge, transferable skills and hands on practical experience in core topics within the Computing & IT sectors. The course has a unit based structure and you will be able to apply the knowledge you gain over a mixture of project-based assessments.  The course content is equally suited to both male and female students due to its diverse programme of study. 

Methods & Patterns of Assessment

The Diploma consists of 10 units of which 6 are mandatory and 2 are external.  The course is made up of Mandatory content (67%) which is internally assessed and (33%) Externally assessed units.

The course is assessed through a range of coursework assignments and practical exercises. These will involve a range of tasks allowing you to demonstrate your knowledge and understanding of the topics, and have a mixture of internal and external assessments. There are no examinations.

Financial Implications

The course is predominately taught via the College Intranet and Moodle. There may be some costs for printing but this will be minimal.  Course booklets can be purchased through the college online shop.  There are two core books published as course companions which students are advised to purchase once you have started your course. 

There are likely to be trips and visits to industry which may incur some expense but we will endeavour to cover costs where possible.

The College has a Student Support Fund for those students who have difficulty meeting these costs.