Awarding Body:EdexcelCourse Duration:2 Years


These courses will be offered over a 2 year period:

The Subsidiary Diploma which is equivalent to 1 A Level

The Diploma which is equivalent to 2 A Levels

Course Content

This qualification is designed to support learners who are interested in learning about the computing sector alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in the computing sector.  It is designed to be taken as part of a programme of study that includes other BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

Diploma in IT;

This qualification is designed to support students who want a strong core study of computer science to enable progression to roles in the computing industry or progression to higher education with a focus on the computing sector. 

In your first year you will study four core units:

  • Unit 1: Communication & Employability in IT *
  • Unit 2: Computer Systems*
  • Unit 6: Software Design & Development
  • Unit 7: Organisational Systems & Security
  • Unit 8: E-Commerce
  • Unit 30: Digital Graphics

In your second year you will study six units;

  • Unit 3:  Information Systems
  • Unit 11: Systems Analysis & Design
  • Unit 14: Event Driven Programming
  • Unit 18: Database Management
  • Unit 21: Data Analysis & Design
  • Unit 35: Digital Graphics & Multimedia

Note: * denotes mandatory units

Methods of Teaching

The BTEC Nationals in IT are a suite of advanced level vocational qualifications which involve the theoretical and practical study of both computer hardware and software related topics.  The course provides specialist knowledge, transferable skills and hands on practical experience in core topics within the Computing & IT sectors. The course has a unit based structure and you will be able to apply the knowledge you gain over a mixture of project-based assessments.  The course content is equally suited to both male and female students due to its diverse programme of study. 

Methods & Patterns of Assessment

The Certificate, Subsidiary Diploma and Diploma will be assessed using a mixture of methods and are all internally assessed by the college via coursework.

The Subsidiary Diploma, equivalent in size to one A Level consists of 6 units of which 3 units are undertaken in year 1 and 3 units in year 2. A mixture of college set assessments are assessed internally at the college via coursework. 

The Diploma, equivalent in size to two A Levels which consists of 12 units of which 4 units are mandatory and 8 units are optional. 

Financial Implications

The course is predominately assessed via the College Intranet and Moodle.  There may be some costs for printing but this will be minimal.  Course booklets can be purchased through the intranet bookshop.  There are two core books published as course companions.  Students will have access to e-books. 

There are likely to be trips and visits to industry which may incur some expense but we will endeavour to cover costs where possible.

The College has a Student Support Fund for those students who have difficulty meeting these costs.

Where Could It Take Me?

The BTEC Nationals in IT are recognised by both higher education establishments and industry.  The courses are suitable for students who have a keen interest in following a career in the wide field of IT and Computing and who may wish to go directly into employment or undertake an Apprenticeship after completing the qualification as well as those who wish to embark on a degree course at university.

When taken alongside other Level 3 qualifications such as A Levels or other BTECs, these qualifications provide an opportunity to progress to a degree in a computing discipline or a degree where computing-related skills and knowledge may be advantageous, such as business studies.

These qualifications carry UCAS points and are recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses.

Entry Requirements

5 GCSE's at grade 4 or above, including Maths and English.

Apply Online